Second attempt at Gymnastics photography

Well, I was there again stood on the side lines of the competition area, this time at New College Leicester, trying to get some shots of my daughter.  She was competing for her grade 13.

I was the only one there with a ‘big’ lens apart from the event photographer.  Whilst loitering in between shots I got talking to the centre manager, who, as it happens is involved with photographic liaison/organisation at the big national and international gymnastics events, and she was passing on some very helpful hints/tips.  So thanks to her i feel i have some improved shots.  Her website can be seen here www.lindagore.co.uk 

The lighting wasn’t great again so the ISO was up at 1600 and i worked on the static shots as opposed to the moving action shots.  Post production of these images involved slight some slight exposure increased and then some noise reduction and sharpening.  The white balance was custom set in camera.

Overall i am very pleased with these images.  But, what really topped the day was my daughters stunning performance and winning a Bronze medal for third place. 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by robferrol. Bookmark the permalink.

About robferrol

I love photography. To capture a moment in time and make it last forever is a wonderful gesture and a fantastic gift to share with others. I'm a 'young at heart' 40 something year old who loves life & laughter. My family are my life and they make me laugh!! My photography covers many genres from weddings, Commercial, street & Landscapes. I hope you love what i share and share what i love!!

Leave a Reply

