apologies for not posting for sometime.  Its been a hectic few weeks in my home and unfortunately not in the photographic sense.   Last week some unscrupulous members of society decided they would like to break into my garage and steal my Motorbike and my new mountain bike.  Now, I could vent my anger with a few expletives but i’m not gonna let these scoundrels get the better of me.

So, after taking care of sorting new security measures, lights, locks and booby traps, lol, I headed out for a photoshoot to lift my spirits.  The location was an unsuspecting wood right next to the A614 near Clumber Park, Nottinghamshire.  Hundreds of vehicles must pass this location every day but I wonder how few take the time to look into the woods at this special time of year.

It’s that time when the Bluebells come out and I for one did not know that there was a wonderful Bluebell wood right on my doorstep.  It’s only after viewing a local photographers Blog that I came across this location.  Thanks to Mark Tierney for the directions and inspiration.

It’s only a small wood but has easy access from the layby, but, try to avoid entering the wood by the layby, unfortunately its strewn with litter.  It’s better to walk along the edge of the wood 100ft or so by the road, being carefull of traffic obviously, then enter the wood there. 

The compositions it offers are endless, indeed, the images below were taken with a variety of lenses from a Sigma 10-20m, Canon 17-40mm L, and a Sigma 70-200mm.  The first few images were taken in the harsh midday light on one visit and after much excitement I arranged another visit with some fellow photographers Doug Chinnery, Carl Mickleburgh and James Davies.  A fun evening rewarded with fantastic light and good humour.  Please follow the links and view their work from this location on Flickr, they are great photographers and have fantastic portfolios which i’m sure you will enjoy viewing. 

This spectacle only lasts for a few weeks each year so ill certainly be heading out there again over the next week or so, otherwise its a long wait till next year. 

Now, I’m off to arrange collection of my wrecked motorcycle, oh the joys!!

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by robferrol. Bookmark the permalink.

About robferrol

I love photography. To capture a moment in time and make it last forever is a wonderful gesture and a fantastic gift to share with others. I'm a 'young at heart' 40 something year old who loves life & laughter. My family are my life and they make me laugh!! My photography covers many genres from weddings, Commercial, street & Landscapes. I hope you love what i share and share what i love!!

Leave a Reply

