A Flickr Milestone

well, for me anyway! Just a bit of minor personal trumpet blowing, I’ve just had my first image reach a ‘grand’ total of 1000 views on Flickr and its still climbing. Here is a link to the image in my Flickr Photostream http://flic.kr/p/8cSwzq

It’s an image that was taken on an inpromptu outing to a local spot with fellow photographer Carl Mickleburgh. I’d spotted this field while out scouting the local area and just had to return that very same evening. It was a fantastic field of poppies so dense it was a sea of red and it was nice to have such a location on my doorstep for a change. To top it off we were blessed with a stunning evening sky too.

It was uploaded to Flickr that same evening and soon afterwards made it into Flickr Explore and since its upload it has steadily increased in views and i was over the moon to see it reach 1000 views a few days ago.

I’m hoping to pay the very same location a repeat visit this summer in the hope that that this sea or red returns. I’ve sold the image below quite a few times and even had enquiries about turning it into a gift card. I’m hoping i can add a few more to my poppy collection so it will make a nice card set.

If you would like to see more of my work why not check out my Flickr Photostream at http://www.flickr.com/photos/robferrol-phtotography/ Most of my work is a vailable for purchase too, see my website for more details at http://www.robferrolphotography.co.uk/

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by robferrol. Bookmark the permalink.

About robferrol

I love photography. To capture a moment in time and make it last forever is a wonderful gesture and a fantastic gift to share with others. I'm a 'young at heart' 40 something year old who loves life & laughter. My family are my life and they make me laugh!! My photography covers many genres from weddings, Commercial, street & Landscapes. I hope you love what i share and share what i love!!

2 thoughts on “A Flickr Milestone

  1. lovely shot Rob and a worthy best seller. Just a note on poppy fields – they rarely occur in the same field two years in a row because of the way poppy seeds germinate. Poppies lie dormant in soil for long periods and then germinate when the soil is disturbed (which is why roadworks soil piles are often covered in poppies and also why the fields of France filled with poppies after the battles of the first world war – the soil was disturbed and they germinate) so the best way to predict poppy fields is to watch for fields which are disturbed by ploughing after lying fallow for a year or two – makes finding them so much harder for us togs though!!

  2. Thanks for the comments Doug and the insight into Poppies. Looks like i'll have to do some more scouting for them this summer, i'll let you know what i find, lol.

Leave a Reply

