Derbyshire Autumn Landscape Photography – Padley Gorge

It seems to be an annual ritual now!  Ever since I was introduced to the place by the wonderful Landscape photographer Doug Chinnery two years ago, I seem drawn back to capture the magnificent display nature puts on for us every Autumn.

Padley gorge sits at the top edge of the Derbyshire Peak District next to the National Trusts’ Longshaw Estate not too far from Hatheraage.  The gorge, covered with Oak and Birch, is a fine example of an ancient woodland that once covered much of the Dark Peak.  The stream that runs through the gorge, Burbage Brook, used to form the border between Yorkshire and Derbyshire but now the road to Hathersage, the A625, forms this border.

Access to the gorge at the top end is via the roadside gate on the A6521.  The gorge is located just a few hundred yards from this gate but it can be quite tricky underfoot in some places and often quite boggy so wear suitable footwear and take care.  Because of this fairly easy access it can get a little busy, especially at the weekends and Bank holidays.  There are all the usual amenities on the Longshaw Estate but National Trust Fee’s will apply but I cant reccomend the cafe at Grindleford Railway station enough, its cooked breakfasts are probably the best in the area!!

This is now my third autumn visit to the gorge and each year has been very different from the last, I don’t think I’ve taken the same image twice.  The colours on display are just bewildering and when you take a closer look there is so much detail to be seen – the twisted moss/lichen covered trees and boulders, the vibrant colours in the carpet of leaves to name just a few.  One thing I have learned though is that I never give myself enough time at this location.  This visit was just a flying visit to meet up with fellow photographer Tim Smalley.  Tim had been there all day from the early hours in the morning and he had managed to capture some stunning woodland images with the early morning mist entwining itself around the trees.

Anyway, these are just a few of my favorites from my brief visit  this year.  If you’d like to see more of my work please visit my website.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized by robferrol. Bookmark the permalink.

About robferrol

I love photography. To capture a moment in time and make it last forever is a wonderful gesture and a fantastic gift to share with others. I'm a 'young at heart' 40 something year old who loves life & laughter. My family are my life and they make me laugh!! My photography covers many genres from weddings, Commercial, street & Landscapes. I hope you love what i share and share what i love!!

Leave a Reply

