Reflecting on a good year – 2013

Just been archiving a load of images from 2013 so i thought I’d put up a little blog post as a sort of reflection on the year.  Its been one of my busiest photographically and i’ve pressed the shutter button more times this year than any other.

One thing that I have noticed this year though that I have neglected making images for my own pleasure, most of my work has been commercial or wedding orientated, so, over the course of the next twelve months i intend to make more of an effort to shoot some personal images in the genres of Landscape & Street photography.

The images below are not a “best of”, they are more of a look back of some fun, memorable moments from 2013.  I hope you like them!!

The glitzy highlight to the North Notts business calendar.

The glitzy highlight to the North Notts business calendar.

The highlight for me was seeing the Vulcan Fly.  As a young Airman I used to stand in awe as this huge beast flew it's practice displays above RAF Marham.

The highlight for me was seeing the Vulcan Fly. As a young Airman I used to stand in awe as this huge beast flew it’s practice displays above RAF Marham.

It's been rumored that the road to Spurn Point has been destroyed by all the recent storms making future visits here impossible.

It’s been rumored that the road to Spurn Point has been destroyed by all the recent storms making future visits here impossible.

This place was something else.  A surreal mix of industrial abandonment & tranquility.  Well worth another visit or three.

This place was something else. A surreal mix of industrial abandonment & tranquility. Well worth another visit or three.

Cant beat getting some shots when names like Citizen, Rihanna & Victoria's Secrets are in the lens.  All part of my commercial clients Advertising campaigns.

Cant beat getting some shots when names like Citizen, Rihanna & Victoria’s Secrets are in the lens. All part of my commercial clients Advertising campaigns.

There were plenty wedding throughout the year.  Along with the stunning brides there were some stunning venues too.

There were plenty wedding throughout the year. Along with the stunning brides there were some stunning venues too.

I was luck enough to gain early access to Hodsock Priory to photograph their annual Snowdrop display.  Well worth a visit of you are in the area.

I was luck enough to gain early access to Hodsock Priory to photograph their annual Snowdrop display. Well worth a visit of you are in the area.

Being only 10 minutes drive away this play was always a favourite for a day/evening out.  It also proved a popular spot for many of my pre-wedding photoshoots.

Being only 10 minutes drive away this play was always a favourite for a day/evening out. It also proved a popular spot for many of my pre-wedding photoshoots.

Ya can't beat celebrating with good friends.  We've known Gill & Glen a long time now and whenever we're together there is always much fun, laughter and eeerr beer!!! :-)

Ya can’t beat celebrating with good friends. We’ve known Gill & Glen a long time now and whenever we’re together there is always much fun, laughter and eeerr beer!!! 🙂

A big highlight to our summer was hosting a child from the Ukraine for a few weeks.

A big highlight to our summer was hosting a child from the Ukraine for a few weeks.We gave a few weeks of our lives to give years of life to the little people of Korosten, Ukraine. An area affected by the Chernobyl disaster. I’ve blogged about this earlier so will leave a link below.

The Aurora Cancer Charity Awards were one of my busiest events of this year,  I love working with charities and having lost close family members to cancer this once was close to my heart.

The Aurora Cancer Charity Awards were one of my busiest events of this year, I love working with charities and having lost close family members to cancer this once was close to my heart.

For the second year running Andrew asked for Alan from A Team Fitness who runs 'boot camp' style parties for kids & big kids.  I wonder what he will choose for his birthday party theme this year?.........

For the second year running Andrew asked for Alan from A Team Fitness who runs ‘boot camp’ style parties for kids & big kids. I wonder what he will choose for his birthday party theme this year?………

A big celebrity shoot, this time for another Cancer Charity.  Weston Park Hospital Cancer Charity asked me to photograph their annual 'light the night' walk and the bonus this year was that Jessica, the charities patron, would be there for a special photoshoot and to start the event.

A big celebrity shoot, this time for another Cancer Charity. Weston Park Hospital Cancer Charity asked me to photograph their annual ‘light the night’ walk and the bonus this year was that Jessica, the charities patron, would be there for a special photoshoot and to start the event.

Another celebrity in the bag this year was Colin Salmon who was presenting the awards at the Redemption & Justice awards.

Another celebrity in the bag this year was Colin Salmon who was presenting the awards at the Redemption & Justice awards.

This year saw the 70th Anniversary of the Dambusters raid in Germany.  A occasion that was marked by a memorial flypast of the Lancaster bomber.

This year saw the 70th Anniversary of the Dambusters raid in Germany. A occasion that was marked by a memorial flypast of the Lancaster bomber.

Sticking with the Lancaster theme.  I photographed the ceremony to mark the laying of a memorial stone in memory of a Lancaster that crashed close by killing many of its crew.

Sticking with the Lancaster theme. I photographed the ceremony to mark the laying of a memorial stone in memory of a Lancaster that crashed close by killing many of its crew.

Jodies Birthday party was at Creswell Craggs.  A prehistoric cave complex which suited these Neanderthal kids to the ground.  I tried to give this image a 'Land that time forgot' look.  Not sure if it worked...

Jodies Birthday party was at Creswell Craggs. A prehistoric cave complex which suited these Neanderthal kids to the ground. I tried to give this image a ‘Land that time forgot’ look. Not sure if it worked…

Lost count how many times i've been here.  There have been occasions when I never made it out of the car but when the light is good you can see its well worth it!!

Lost count how many times i’ve been here. There have been occasions when I never made it out of the car but when the light is good you can see its well worth it!!

I entered a few images into the Nottingham Flickr groups 'Connected' exhibition and was in awe at the quality of the work on display.  I even managed to sell one of my images on display.  I wonder if it's gracing a prime location or a toilet wall somewhere in someones house

I entered a few images into the Nottingham Flickr groups ‘Connected’ exhibition and was in awe at the quality of the work on display. I even managed to sell one of my images on display. I wonder if it’s gracing a prime location or a toilet wall somewhere in someones house

Andrew loves sports day which is a far cry from my childhood memories of them.

Andrew loves sports day which is a far cry from my childhood memories of them.

I love street photography.  One of my goals this year is to shoot a lot more than i did in 2013.  Capturing life in an uncontrolled environment is not easy but its loads of fun.

I love street photography. One of my goals this year is to shoot a lot more than i did in 2013. Capturing life in an uncontrolled environment is not easy but its loads of fun.

Not sure why I've included this image.  Possiblhy because it encapsulates all that is right with this country and all that is wrong with it too!!  I love this country for its history, architechture, culture and diversity  but boy do i get annoyed with those that run it.  I'm not going there in this blog though :-/

Not sure why I’ve included this image. Possiblhy because it encapsulates all that is right with this country and all that is wrong with it too!! I love this country for its history, architechture, culture and diversity but boy do i get annoyed with those that run it. I’m not going there in this blog though :-/

Managed a few model portrait shoots along the way too.  Mostly TFP stuff, portfolio building, playing with lighting techniques etc.

Managed a few model portrait shoots along the way too. Mostly TFP stuff, portfolio building, playing with lighting techniques etc.

2 thoughts on “Reflecting on a good year – 2013

  1. How fun to see what you have been photographing this year! What a good idea! I like your presentation!
    I can see why so many folks are requesting your talent now. It is obvious to me that you really like your subjects, and that shows through in your images! Well done and very admirable work!

Leave a Reply

